My approach to training


As a bodybuilder the kind of training routine I follow can differ depending on my goals. Typically I’ll train weights 6 times a week with 1 rest day. Most people will have a structured routine and by that I mean – day 1 chest, day 2 back, day 3 legs etc. However I’m guilty of training whatever I feel like on whatever day. My approach to training has been this way for a long time, personally I don’t like following a regime that says I have to train ‘this body part on this day’, for me it just doesn’t work.

I do however split my training days up by body part. Here is an example of how my split looks at the moment (in no particular order).

Back and Biceps

chest and triceps

Quads and calves

Shoulders, traps and abs

Biceps, triceps and Forearms

Hammies and Glutes

My training sessions typically last from 90-120 minutes. Now some people would say “you’re over training!” “9-12 hours a week of weights training is too much”. Well it might be for some people, you have to remember that everyone is different and not everyone has the same goal, lifestyle, diet or dedication.

There are several factors that you should consider when it comes to training vs over training. First off is rest, are you giving your body enough rest? For me, rest means addiquet sleep which for me is around 7-8 hours a night. Also I like to have 24 hours between workouts.

Next factor to consider is your diet. Are you getting the right macro nutrients? Are you getting enough protein? How many carbs are you eating a day? Are you eating enough calories. If you’re on a low calorie diet it will slow down your recovery time because your body isn’t getting enough energy and nutrients.

Now the last thing you should think about is how intense you are training. If you’re slugging it out balls to the wall training till failure every rep every day, your body is going to have a hard time recovering. Some days I like to lift heavy and go till failure, other days I’ll lower the weight and push out a couple of extra reps but not till failure.

Now when it comes to cardio I like to do it daily, this isn’t for fat burning it’s more of just a mental thing. I like to walk and I find walking for around thirty minutes a day is enough to clear my head and help me cope with the everyday stresses of life. Of course if I was looking to burn some extra calories I would also do around 10 minutes of HIIT (30 seconds fast, 1 minute slow) usually on the bike or 10 minutes on the stair master (start slow but finish on a high setting). I would probably do this 3 times a week but then again it depends on my goal at the time. I believe in an active lifestyle so cardio is a must to keep me sane. But I don’t always look at it is cardio, sometimes more of just ‘being active’.

For me training is my therapy, it is my stress relief and I don’t know what I would do without. There was a time when I didn’t train but that was a long time ago and I was a different person. Everyone has their own reasons for training, as mentioned above mine is to keep me sane, self improvement and a hobby/lifestyle that I’m passionate about.

Hopefully this has given you a small insight into how I train. Remember if you have any questions or comments feel free to leave them below.

2 thoughts on “My approach to training

Leave a Reply

