What I Eat – Part Two Bulk Diet


Alright so very similar to my Shred Diet my bulking diet is simple, cost effective, easy to prepare and what some might call ‘clean’ or ‘plain’ food. The way I look at my diet is the same way I look at my body, my shred diet is a smaller, more precise version where as my bulk diet is the bigger, but not to the tee version (if that makes sense).

So I like to keep track of my calories/macros no matter what phase I’m in and this is purely because I don’t like to blow out, get lazy and gain a heap of body fat. As you can guess I’m not a huge fan of dirty bulking and the main reason behind that is because although it gives you mind a break from counting calories, it’s an easy way to gain unnecessary body fat which in turn makes your shred/cut phase longer and in my opinion more painful.

Now the following diet I’m about to show you is what I would be eating while on a bulk, however as I said sometimes the amount can vary and this is usually always around the post workout meals. For example I might have bananas one night the next I might have kiwis or whatever, one night I might have chocolate the next I’ll have none.

So lets get into it.

Bulking diet

Meal 1 – Overnight oats / Porridge / 5 minute Oats

  • 70g Oats
  • 50g Flaxseed Meal
  • 1 Large Banana
  • Cinnamon

Mash the banana into a bowl, add the oats, flaxseed meal and cinnamon, then add water (I add about 500ml of cold water) mix together and wait 5 minutes for the mixture to thicken up OR leave in the fridge overnight OR cook oats on the stove with 250-500ml of water, add in the flaxseed meal and chop up the banana and add in while cooking, sprinkle with cinnamon and eat warm.

Protein – 27.4g / Carbs – 66.2g / Fats – 13.8g / Calories – 570kcals

oats_banana_flax

Meal 2

  • 150g Hard Tofu (baked and seasoned with various herbs and spices)
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • 100g Cooked Broccoli (sometimes I’ll have both Broccoli and Kale)

Protein – 30.8g / Carbs – 3.2g / Fats – 29.6g / Calories – 416kcals

kale_broc_tofu_avo

Meal 3

  • 150g Hard Tofu (baked and seasoned with various herbs and spices)
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • 80g Cooked Kale Chips (sometimes I’ll have both Broccoli and Kale)

Protein – 30.8g / Carbs – 3.2g / Fats – 29.6g / Calories – 416kcals

kale_broc_tofu_avo2

Meal 4 – Pre-workout Meal

  • 250g Basmati Rice
  • 240g Kidney Beans
  • Himalayan Rock Salt

Protein – 25.8g / Carbs – 108.1g / Fats – 7.5g / Calories – 644.6kcals

Meal 5 – Post-workout Shake

Protein – 26.1g / Carbs – 28.7g / Fats – 1.7g / Calories -241.7kcals

earth_protein

Meal 6 – Post-workout Meal (Stir fry or Curry) <- Watch video on YouTube

  • 250g Basmati Rice OR 110g Pasta
  • 240g Chickpeas OR Kidney Beans
  • 1 Carrot
  • 1 Onion
  • 1/4 Red Capsicum
  • 50g Kale
  • Teaspoon Minced Garlic
  • Herbs + Spices (Cumin, Paprika, Turmeric, Curry Powder, Salt)
  • Tomato Paste or Curry Paste

Fry everything up with a little coconut oil and make into a stir fry or curry – optional blend up the chickpeas with some water to make a thick sauce for the veggies.

Protein – 28.6g / Carbs – 128.9g / Fats – 9.7g / Calories -757.8kcals

beans_pasta.PNG

Meal 7 – Pre Bed Meal

  • 2 Large Bananas
  • 25g Dark Chocolate

Protein – 7.1g / Carbs – 61.7g / Fats – 12.3g / Calories -377.8kcals

Total Daily Macros
Protein – 172g / Carbs – 346.4g / Fats – 103.9g / Calories -3423.9kcals

 

Now the total calories for this diet is close to 3500, but like I said it can vary depending on my mood. Some days might be 3200 and others it could be 4000. Also I’ll have 1-2 “cheat” meals a week usually back to back – So Friday night and then again Saturday night. The reasoning behind this is sometimes I need a break mentally and want to eat out with my partner, friends or family and sometimes it’s just nice to enjoy other foods that I don’t normally eat.

So there you have it, not much difference between my shred and bulk diet just the quantities. I’d love to hear from you so feel free to contact me on any of my social media outlets and be sure to checkout my YouTube channel!

Leave a Reply

